a (voting) district

Governments divide areas in different ways: into provinces, states, counties, towns, etc. One small area is called a "district".

There are different kinds of districts. There are "police districts" which are each served by a different police department, "fire districts" which each have their own fire station, and "voting districts" which determine what local elections residents will vote in.

Voting districts are usually numbered (like "District 19", "District 41", etc.). Other kinds of districts can be numbered or named for their location ("Wellington Falls Fire District").

This phrase appears in these lessons: